The one with the abortion law

I guess you have seen and read all over the media about the abortion law passed in Alabama and Georgia. I have read them too. And all I could think about was Atwood’s famous quote blessed be the fruit… A pre-Gileadean era is on its way...

When you ban abortion, you refuse women the right to own their body. Why have women in these states to be subjected to a government which doesn’t care about them and thinks of them as vessels to carry the future generation? In the name of a religion, procreation becomes more important than creation, and women who suffer because of the original sin have to suffer eternally. Alabama and Georgia are not the only states. Abortion is considered illegal in so many countries that makes you think that undoubtedly, this type of law only favours men. A law that has to do with a WOMAN’S body favours MEN…

Alas, how Atwoodean all this sounds. Blessed be the fruit, and blessed be the sperm, and blessed be the rapist, and blessed be the incest cause when he cums inside you and you get pregnant without your consent, you have to keep a baby you don’t want, a daily reminder of this vulgar act, because yes it is the Christian thing to do. We only care about encouraging fertility when we should think twice if we want to bring tiny humans in this world. And if we don’t want to, it’s our fucking right. Not all people are capable of being parents, not all people have the means to support a full grown family, not all people want to be called a parent. And yet, by enforcing a law, you have made your decisions. What if Alyssa Milano becomes a contemporary Lysistrata and asks women to withhold sexual privileges? Will that take back the fact that in 2019 there is a law that will tell me what to do with my OWN FUCKING BODY? Should I be happy that I don’t live in Alabama or where abortion is to be punished? Should I consider myself lucky and forget that there are women who aren’t LUCKY enough? Has our body become a matter of luck, a coin to be flipped?

This law took me back almost 15 years ago when I went to high school. I was about to sit the panhellenic exams and to enrich my ideas and obtain a wider view of the world I used to watch movies a lot. And it did help because in Greece one of the exams is about a writing course called Έκθεση and students are asked among others to write mostly essays about a hot – or not so hot- topic. Imagine a 17year old trying to write about matters not that appealing. So movies were the best I could do because my notes were not that understandable. So, one of the movies I still remember is Vera Drake. It’s about an EXTREMELY KIND woman who secretly performs abortions -free of charge- to those who need it. I remember my eyes go big and my heart shrinking with Vera’s kindness and the court’s decision. I remember the parallel story of a rich woman who got raped and couldn’t get an abortion because it was illegal. I remember that on that day I realised that my body is MINE. It doesn’t belong to anyone, not to a man, not to my father, not to my mother, not to my boyfriend, not to anyone. It’s mine. And that’s what our bodies are. OURS. No blessed be the fruit. No under his eye. Just nolite te bastardes carborundorum

DON’T LET THE BASTARDS GRIND YOU DOWN. Simply, don’t.


Leave a comment